Delta State Civil Service Commission Follow Us    

The Chairman

Dame Patience Nkem Kanke Okwuofu (JP)

She is a successful Midwife/Registered Nurse, an astute Administrator and a visionary Leader. She rose from a humble and disciplined background of a student Nurse in the General Hospital Warri in 1972 to become a voice to be reckoned with in the Delta State political terrain beginning from 1986 when she was elected a Councilor in the then Aniocha (LGC Ward 3).


She had her primary and post primary education in the old Midwestern State and became a State Registered Nurse, with the School of Nursing, Benin in 1970. Between 1973 and 1975, she left the shores of this country to the United Kingdom for further studies and became a Registered Midwife in the UK, with certifications in Family Planning Techniques and Intensive Care of Newborn. In pursuit of academic excellence, she went to the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife where she bagged an Advanced Diploma in Public Administration, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, where she acquired a Bachelor’s Degree in Public Administration (Second Class Upper Division), and topped it with an MBA from Almeda Online University, in Idaho, USA.

Working Experience

Between 1972 and 1976, she worked as a Student Nurse, in various hospitals here in Nigeria and in the UK, and rose to become a Matron at Benoni Hospital and Asuen Hospital, both in Benin City in 1978; and Kampsax Clinic Ugoneki (1980). She also was the proprietress of Pat Cottage Maternity Home.

Political Life

Her venture into the the political terrain commenced with her election as a Councilor in Ward 3 of the the then Aniocha LGC (1987-1989). Other prominent political appointments and positions held in the State before now include (but not limited to):

S/N Designation Tenure
1 Commissioner for Special Duties 1992-1993
2 Executive Chairman, Post Primary Education Board 1999-2001
3 Commissioner for Arts, Culture & Tourism 1999-2001
4 Council Member, Federal College of Education (Special), Oyo 2001-2003
5 Sole Administrator, Delta Rainbow Television 2004-2006
6 Special Project Director, Governor’s office, Asaba 2008
7 Executive Chairman, State Universal Basic Education Board 2008
8 Executive Chairman, Local Govt. Service Commission 2010-2014
9 Member, Delta State Advisory/Peace Building Council 2015 till date.
10 Member, National Executive Council (NEC), People Democratic Party 2016-2020